Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: mould on aging meat

mould on aging meat

a couple weeks ago i got a bull tahr he was fat as and in really good condition and after having some backstrap after only 2 days after it was shot it was tough as old boots so left it in the fridge to age a bit. now its been exactly 2 weeks, theres a bit of white mould growing on the meat i have never seen it before on any game i have shot and aged this long so does this mean the meat should be thrown or will it be ok to eat? meat doesn't smell just has spots of white mould over it.

cheers.

MB
    I would give that to the dog, but I'm no expert. Just out of interest, was it in a sealed container or open to the air in the fridge.

Quote Originally Posted by MB View Post
    I would give that to the dog, but I'm no expert. Just out of interest, was it in a sealed container or open to the air in the fridge.
    open air, sitting on the racks.
    MB likes this.

Agree with mimms2 White is generally "good mould" green, blue or red not so. Air cured salami has white mould on it so does panchetta mind those have salt in them. There are more tahr in the hills.

Have sometimes got white mould on venison aging a long time in the fridge. Use the nose, I find that's more accurate And even when its just on the turn, casseroles taste fantastic.
    Micky Duck likes this.

GWH
    Its fine mate, just trim off the mould bit, and any hardened off skin, it will be fine underneath all that.
    trapperjohn likes this.

If it doesn't stink trim it off the outside fry it and eat��
    Micky Duck likes this.