Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By csmiffy
  • 2 Post By SixtyTen

Thread: Bedding with 10 pounds of upwards pressure on the barrel.

Bedding with 10 pounds of upwards pressure on the barrel.

So it is generally accepted that bedding the action and free floating the barrel improves accuracy. With too much time on my hands I came across this:
    https://www.larrywillis.com/tip021.html

Can anyone shine a light on this contradiction to the normal way of free floating thinking?

Whilst I have little experience tuning rifles I can understand why some need bedding in different ways.
    In a previous life i did a little machining.
    There would be times where everything would machine nicely. Other times for no apparent reason what ever you were turning would get vibrations/harmonics like a bitch and make a final cut just horrible. Would try speeding up, slowing down, thicker and thinner cuts, bit of wood pressed against it etc. So i can quite understand some barrels needing full pressure over free floating
    Micky Duck and Ned like this.

Hahaha @csmiffy, every machinist knows exactly what you are talking about there.

Back to the original point. My ruger stainless synthetic ultralight has pressure point factory bedding, I assume it's done to reduce harmonics.

Quote Originally Posted by RUMPY View Post
    Hahaha @csmiffy, every machinist knows exactly what you are talking about there.

Back to the original point. My ruger stainless synthetic ultralight has pressure point factory bedding, I assume it's done to reduce harmonics.