Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree18Likes
  • 16 Post By Got Juice?
  • 2 Post By Martin358

Thread: Canadian DR.s thoughts on people who want to ban firearms.

Banned

Canadian DR.s thoughts on people who want to ban firearms.

https://nationalpost.com/opinion/i-t...gun-enthusiast

By Gregory J. Mosdossy

I am an emergency physician working at both academic and community emergency departments in Ontario. I was recently asked to sign a petition in support of a National Day of Action organized by the Canadian Doctors for Protection from Guns (CDPG) to ban “assault weapons” and handguns. This recently formed organization is not representative of a majority of physicians or health-care workers and I feel the need to respond with an alternative perspective.

In the early 1990s in Sudbury, Ont., I took care of an eight-year-old boy who was brought to the ER with a shotgun wound to his midsection. He had been playing with the teen next door, who had pointed his father’s improperly stored and loaded gun at the child and pulled the trigger. In spite of our best efforts, the young child did not survive. This case, and the boy’s mother’s resulting advocacy, were part of the stimulus for the 1995 Canadian Firearms Act that put into law our current method of storage, transport, categorization and licensure of firearms.

Paramedics rush a shooting victim from Ecole Polytechnique in Montreal after gunman Marc Lepine opened fire at the school on Dec. 6, 1989, killing 14 and injuring 13 others. Dr. Gregory J. Mosdossy, then chief resident in the Emergency Medicine Residency Program at McGill, worked with paramedics at the scene.