Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Pump vs Semi auto

Pump vs Semi auto

Im trying to branch out from deer and goat hunting and now in the market for a shotgun but kind of tossing up between a pump or a semi auto.
    The advantages of a pump action for me is it fits into my budget a bit better. A semi auto is more conveniant though.
    Just want to see what everyones opinions are whether its with stretching my budget for a semiauto or will a pump action be just fine.
    Its also for duck shooting next season hopefully

I'm no expert at all. Bit from what I've seen cheap autos suck. So if on a limited budget grab a pump.

Semi-autos are in my view nicer to use simply because of the reduced recoil.
    Bryan, 199p and Moa Hunter like this.
    "The generalist hunter and angler is a well-fed mofo" - Steven Rinella

The mossberg maverick with the 2 barrels seem like a good deal for a startup. Good reliable gun with option of the shorter barrel for a handy rabbit gun.
    I would personally avoid the cheap Turkish semiautomatic for heavy use. I had a an Armsan 20g I used for getting into skeet. Good gun for the price but not sure I would want it as a duck gun shooting heavy feild loads all the time.
    Last edited by PeteD; 24-06-2022 at 12:21 PM.

Yes cheap Turkish guns are what I've seen/heard of give the most grief.
    "The generalist hunter and angler is a well-fed mofo" - Steven Rinella

I’ve used a pump for years, used it in the McKenzie Basin when rabbits were numerous, it was an ‘orrible Bentley 8 shot with sights -never ever had any issues with it