Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Black Watch


User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Recent random spot inspections

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    475

    Recent random spot inspections

    A friend phoned today saying he had a recent random spot inspection with the normal details asked for and firearms recorded.Which had me thinking what are our rights at the moment given that I think neither side know which way is up ?Also has any one else seen a increase in these random spot inspections?

  2. #2
    Member Tussock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    1,090
    Quote Originally Posted by Markgibsonr25 View Post
    A friend phoned today saying he had a recent random spot inspection with the normal details asked for and firearms recorded.Which had me thinking what are our rights at the moment given that I think neither side know which way is up ?Also has any one else seen a increase in these random spot inspections?
    Which license?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    475
    a cat doesn't hold any others

  4. #4
    Member Tommy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    W-BOP
    Posts
    4,938
    Does he comment on the internet?
    Identify your target beyond all doubt

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Horowhenua
    Posts
    84
    Does he live in Dunedin ? they might be a bit twitchy down there at the mo

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    475
    No not a internet type and was more queenstown area without being specific.

  7. #7
    Member Tussock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    1,090
    Disturbing. I still have not restocked my tea

  8. #8
    Member northdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    north auckland area
    Posts
    4,928
    so did the people who did inspection record all firearms in his posetion

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    475
    Yes all was recorded,He does a bit of waro but does not have those types of guns in his possession so if that is related or not I am not sure.

  10. #10
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    19,515
    Is that even legal?
    outdoorlad likes this.
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    475
    Hence my question?

  12. #12
    Member outdoorlad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    1,656
    Quote Originally Posted by veitnamcam View Post
    Is that even legal?
    I didn’t think that could do that, wasn’t that one of the things they wanted from that select Committee review into how gangs were getting there guns, warrant less authority to enter?

    I think on principle I’d be asking where is their warrant from a judge?
    Shut up, get out & start pushing!

  13. #13
    Member stug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Oxford, Canterbury
    Posts
    3,325
    At the moment they have no legal powers to record your serial numbers, etc. I think they can do spot inspections. however there is some case law around them not being able to prosecute for what they find ie firearms lying around not locked up.
    Watch this space though.

  14. #14
    Member Cordite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    NZ Mainland
    Posts
    2,512
    Perfectly legal for ANYONE to turn up at your house and ask, "Hello, I'm Sir Cordite Strands. Say, Ol' Boy, I'm here to inspect your firearms and your storage, would you mind showing me those."

    Up to you if you let someone in or not. You don't have to let cops in if you are on an A cat license, unless they have a warrant. Then again, nothing to hide, no?
    Carlsen Highway likes this.
    Join COLFO - Be a represented firearms owner.

  15. #15
    Member gadgetman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    14,477
    Check the legislation. Pretty sure they can inspect with at least 24 hours notice for a-cat license holder. You are not required to let them record details of firearms.
    Maca49 likes this.
    There are only three types of people in this world. Those that can count, and those that can't!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 52
    Last Post: 28-01-2019, 08:43 PM
  2. Spot satellite messenger, aka findme SPOT
    By ROKTOY in forum Gear and Equipment
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19-09-2017, 10:44 AM
  3. Recent E-cat safe deals/inspections?
    By hauraki in forum Firearm Safety
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30-05-2017, 08:43 AM
  4. A few recent LR rifle builds
    By dfmaisey in forum Dean Maisey Gunsmith
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24-03-2015, 04:47 PM
  5. Couple of recent ones
    By Gillie in forum Photography and Video
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 31-08-2012, 10:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Welcome to NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums! We see you're new here, or arn't logged in. Create an account, and Login for full access including our FREE BUY and SELL section Register NOW!!