Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Savage 112 Magnum Target 338 Lapua Bolt-Action Rifle

Savage 112 Magnum Target 338 Lapua Bolt-Action Rifle

I am thinking of getting this rifle for it's 338 "Lapuaness"... then in time make my own wooden tactical grip stock as I don't like the stock it has. I will want it for long range target shooting, (I'm a beginner).

Does anyone have experience with this gun? I have read that the bolt might stick with reloads and it is finicky with some brands of cases?

If this is the case, are there things that can be done to negate this... or what other 338 Lapua rifles could I buy for the metal parts only? The more buttery the bolt action, the better.

https://gun.deals/product/savage-112...on-rifle-89999

I have the 110 in 7mmrm and ur right the bolt does get sticky with reloads

It's not what you asked, but what do you consider to be long range?

Because for most beginners making an entry into "long range", it's rarely over 1000m. And a 338 Lapua is just an obscene amount of overkill for that. Unless you are routinely going to be shooting out to a mile and beyond, you'll be much better served by a 6 or a 6.5 something. Easier to shoot, easier to spot what happens down range, MUCH easier on your wallet.
    Resident 6.5 Grendel aficionado.

No way a beginner should be starting with a 338 Lapua unless you want to become recoil sensitive or develop a flinch.
    Trout, 40mm and BradNZL like this.