Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: 7mmRM 162gr ELD-X factory vs reload

7mmRM 162gr ELD-X factory vs reload

I'm fairly new to reloading, and going to start reloading for my Tikka 7mm rem mag (for hunting). It shoots well with sako ammo, and Nosler 140gr ballistic tips, shooting out to about 400-500m. Best i can get with Hornady precision hunter (162gr ELD-X) factory ammo is about 1.5 MOA

Given the Hornady projectiles are about all that's available at the moment should I persevere with the ELD-X and try to work up a load? Or am i wasting my time and should try a different projectile?

Any tips appreciated!

I dont understand your problem...... if rifle is working ok now,you have no issue..
    if you are getting 1.5" group thats still good to ???300yards... how far do you normally shoot animals?????
    as long as you have half dozen rounds that shoot really well, for the occasional longer shot,your 1.5" ammunition will take care of the rest with ease.I take it you have got some hornady ELDX projectiles as components???? TRY seating them the same,or similar to the other two loads that DO shoot well... eg set up your seating die using loaded round to set seating depth to give similar oglive to rifling distance.... and try it.
    75/15/10 black powder matters

Cheers. I'm hearing ya,

I'm down to my last 4 rounds of factory ammo that I know it shoots well, and haven't been able to find any more. Hense why reloading. The last 5 deer I shot with it were within 300m, and one at 450. For peace of mind I'd really like to work up a load that's sub MOA

I have everything I need except projectiles at this point.