Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree11Likes
  • 1 Post By jeremyc
  • 4 Post By Micky Duck
  • 1 Post By shooternz
  • 1 Post By DavidGunn
  • 2 Post By grandpamac

Thread: newbie right here please help

newbie right here please help

hey guys i recently just purchased a howa 1500 308 with a set of dies. i would like to do my own reloading but im curious to know what powder you guys are using or what powder would be best suited for this gun. im completely new to hunting in general but my buddy who has all the gear has been making his own rounds for a little while now with some good results but he is using a tikka 7mm rem ma. and sugested looking into what others are using with this gun.

Welcome Jeremy. Seems like ADI AR2208 is the way to go for 308s. Have a look at AdI's site for reloading data.

Hi Jeremy, there are loads of powders that work well in 308.

I'm using 2206h in my howa 308 with 168 grain ELD-M projectiles (almost impossible to get at the moment).

The 110 grain v max goes really well in it as well. Very accurate if you're hunting small game. It also likes the 125 grain sst. I've only really shot hornady bullets through mine but it seems to like all of them so far.

Quote Originally Posted by jeremyc View Post