Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By northdude

Thread: reloading 25-06 advice

reloading 25-06 advice

Hey guys,

I'm just getting into reloading for my 25-06. I'm wondering if anyone can impart a bit of advice on the following topics...
    1. Where's the best place to get projectile from in NZ? I seem to remember one of the major companies allowed you to purchase a selection of projectiles so you could experiment before going full hog and purchasing a whole box. I just can't remember which company this is...any ideas?

2. Any preferred projectiles and loads that anyone can recommend? Will mainly be used for red deer in both bush and open country. I'm thinking Sierra Gameking120 grain or Hornandy SST 117 grain.

Would love to hear your thoughts.

northdude
    I think gunworks do sample packs
    Gruff likes this.

I wouldn't recommend the SST's for close up shots in the bush. I used Hornady Superformance for a while through my .25-06, but stopped using them because all of our shots are at fairly close range (<50m) and we had too many deer get up and run off. They just don't seem to expand enough at high speed with that polymer insert, but go right through instead. Would probably be okay if you hit some good solid bone, but ribs aren't enough.

We swapped to Hornady American Whitetail which has a conventional soft point and have had no problems since.

I have heard good reports about the NZ made Targex projectiles, but don't fire enough shots to warrant reloading, so haven't used them myself.

Canterbury, home of the big Rakaia Red Stag