Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree28Likes

Thread: Should I avoid Hornady brass?

Should I avoid Hornady brass?

Hey gents, im still pretty new to reloading. Have developed a few good loads for a .270 and .223 but have a 7 PRC on the way.

My plan was to buy Hornady factory loads (already have around 100 rounds in the safe) and shoot them and then reload with those cases.
    Did some ready and some people were saying they’re only getting 2 reloads out of Hornady brass for magnum loads .

Is this common? Is this a brass I should be avoiding?
    I’ve only really used Sako in the past with the same method and it worked mint

My experience with Hornady brass in magnum caliber is they tend to develop split necks after 1-2 firings. This can be avoided or reduced by annealing. So I would suggest anneal after first firing. Have not seen this problem in 708 or 308.
    Bowhunta and Longrun like this.

It's poor quality brass vs the likes of Norma and Nosler. Which would be fine if Hornady ammo didn't cost just as much.
    Bowhunta likes this.
    Resident 6.5 Grendel aficionado.

Jus
    No way, buy Adg brass. Hornady gives very inconsistent pressure signs. I did exactly what you are wanting to do with my 7prc, 10-20 percent of the factory cases I’ve tried that with have loose primer pockets. 7prc runs hot in factory ammo, so to handload to same or similar velocity you will be on the max, you’ll want good brass dude. Sell the factory box stuff and buy some Adg brass
    Bowhunta likes this.

My opinion differs to Jus but i guess because im not chasing maximum speed, it doesnt matter so much to me.