Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree28Likes

Thread: Substituting projectiles

Substituting projectiles

Hi guys I am relatively new to reloading centrefire rifle rounds and I was contemplating pulling projectiles from F4 7.62 ball ammo and replacing it with 150 gr SSTs and it would be great to get your input as to the suitability of this task

Cheers Kylie

Auckland, until I can escape south....to Southland.
    People have been doing this forever
    I’d suggest you necksize before seating the SST’s
    veitnamcam, Micky Duck and Cordite like this.
    He nui to ngaromanga, he iti to putanga.

You depart with mighty boasts, but you come back having done little.
    Sounds like a typical hunting trip !

Just be aware that some of the military surplus 7.62x51can be quite hot and I have found that I get significant over pressure doing this.

I would suggest starting off a few grains lighter than what's in there and working your way up.

That ammo is fairly warm. Would pay to follow the old recommendation of substitution of same weight or next weight down. Eg. either 145 gr or go down to 130gr. Been doing it with this ammo, MEN and Norinco for a few years now, generally use Hornady 130 sp. Good practice would be to knock powder back a few grains, test in rifle and maybe work back up. You’re going up in projectile weight remember.
    Micky Duck likes this.

Cheers guys I was looking at doing maybe 400-500 once I have settled on a load as I have heaps of the MEN 85 ammo that I want to re-purpose