Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: 6mm Downsides

6mm Downsides

Gidday - I've been pondering options but can't get to a decision (I'm an expert procrastinator/prevaricator and always make things more complicated than they need to be - says my wife).

I have a single shot's in 22K Hornet and 218 Bee but hardly ever use them, seems they get passed when I grab a 22 RF.

However I still feel the need for a centre fire varmint rifle that I'll actually use, and have procrastinated over buying a bolt action 222 or 223

I was thinking of building a 6mm Crudmoor that will be a fast twist, light varmint rifle and double as a "gong gun" and have mostly assembled the parts to do it (post procrastination you might say).

So apart from burning a wee bit more powder in a 6mm, are there any other downsides that I need to consider if I drop my quest for a 222/223 and just use the 6mm ??

you will have one less excuse if you miss....
    257weatherby and 57jl like this.

Slight bit more recoil but if suppressed shouldn't be to bad. Noise would be taken care of with the suppressor also. You will gain in range and wind bucking . Bit more expensive to load for compared to the 22 cal. Should work a treat on those long shots.

You of course just buy a 2forfree

ebf
    If you are into reloading one of the 6mm benchrest calibers would make a cool varmint rifle.
    GWH likes this.
    Viva la Howa ! R.I.P. Toby | Black rifles matter... | #illegitimate_ute

sneakywaza I got
    Quote Originally Posted by chainsaw View Post
    You of course just buy a 2forfree