Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Like Tree50Likes

Thread: 22lr vs goat

A Better Lover Than A Shooter Ultimitsu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by anthony View Post
    Hi guys im pretty new to hunting i have been invited to shoot some goats. i have a savage mk2 22lr it shoots around 1.5 inch at a hundred yards with supersonic winchester power points will this be fine or if not i have a old shotgun that i could probably shoot some buck shot through. Whats your opinions ?
    IF you intend to shoot at 100y/m, definitely do not use a 22. Firstly, it loses about 35~45% energy, secondly there is so much drop and inherent inaccuracy you cannot guarantee good shot placement.

If you intend to shoot goats at 100, I would say a 223 is minimum.

Someone suggested SKS, the problems with SKS are that:
    1. unless you do some (basic) modding, stock SKS is not accurate, I hear 3 to 4 MOA is common.
    2. you will be shooting open sight, which is hard to do a headshoot at 100 even for a good shooter. Or spend money on a SKS mount to put on a scope.

by the time you do the mods and added a decent scope mount, it is not cheap anymore.

Most of the goats I’ve shot were taken with an old semi auto .22 marlin 49DL. I’ve also shot a handful with a 22mag, 223, and 22-250. I don’t recall having used any heavier calibers but that’s beside the point really, anything from a 243 up is guaranteed to skittle goats with authority.