Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: Camo clothing

Camo clothing

I am still new to this hunting thing and so have knowledge to gain aplenty.

I see plenty of places now selling Hi-vis camo so can I assume that unlike humans deer are colour-blind?

Thanks

Hi-viz camo would have to be for those who are not sure if they want to be seen...or not.

True never thought about it like that

Nor West of Auckland on the true right of the Kaipara River
    Yes, unlike most humans deer are red green colour blind but the do see UV light.
    Moa Hunter likes this.
    It takes 43 muscle's to frown and 17 to smile, but only 3 for proper trigger pull.
    What more do we need? If we are above ground and breathing the rest is up to us!
    Rule 1: Treat every firearm as loaded
    Rule 2: Always point firearms in a safe direction
    Rule 3: Load a firearm only when ready to fire
    Rule 4: Identify your target beyond all doubt
    Rule 5: Check your firing zone
    Rule 6: Store firearms and ammunition safely
    Rule 7: Avoid alcohol and drugs when handling firearms

Can deer see reflective tape?...I do know that dirty orange hi-viz can be similar to red deer colour.

Wash your clothes in uv reducing stuff, stops the halo off your clothes

Quote Originally Posted by DavidGunn View Post
    Can deer see reflective tape?...I do know that dirty orange hi-viz can be similar to red deer colour.
    Yes this is a good point. To be effective it has to be bright and new. But man it works when it is.

yes on the reflective tape....yes they see blue