Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree14Likes
  • 3 Post By Chur Bay
  • 5 Post By Nick-D
  • 1 Post By SmokeyJason
  • 1 Post By Apollo
  • 2 Post By Barry the hunter
  • 2 Post By SmokeyJason

Thread: Hunting Advice / Insight

Hunting Advice / Insight

Hi fellas,
    I’m new to hunting in NZ (I moved here 4 years ago) but I’ve been hunting since I was a whipper snapper. I’ve got my hunting permit sorted and all that good stuff and am planning on hunting the Tararuas (Carterton area).

My question is, do you just park your car up in the parking areas of the national parks ie. Waiohine River Carpark and trek through the bush, keeping clear of walking tracks? Or can you follow a walking track to a desired location and cut off into the bush to look for prey?
    Cheers.

Both. What prey are you after?
    If you are going into the bush make sure you know how to navigate .
    If you are new to hunting in NZ I suggest you take an NZDA HUNTS course.
    HG Man, Andygr and Apollo like this.

I’m mainly after deer, but if I can bag a pig or a goat that’ll be sweet. Fortunately I have experience with land navigation, so I’m not too stressed about that. But I’ll check out your suggestion for sure.

Take a GPS or get a GPS app on your phone. Navigating thick bush is different. Hard to index a landmark when you can see 20m max.

Generally on public land you are going to want to wander along the track for 45 or an hour then head into the Bush. Get on Google earth and look for some Likely areas a few ks into the Bush then go explore.