Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree73Likes

Thread: The 270 Guys - they are a changin'

The 270 Guys - they are a changin'

For my sins I volunteer to open our local range for sighting in (a new venture for our "NRA" style range, a fairly innovative move for us fudds)

Its not really well patronised, which is good because there's not enough of me to handle any more than one or two casual shooters who have to be gently coached into following our range standing orders.

I've been a range officer (not continuously) for dammed close to 40 years. When I first started the guys would rock up with a nice scoped rifle and a packet of ammo and proceed to waste most of it, often going off with a flinch and not too much on paper. And haha as I recall the worst offenders were those with 270's.

Now I have to eat humble pie, over the last month I've had two guys rock up with 270's (one with a can and one without) and dammit, both rifles shot extremely well, and even better, the guys shot them well, both went home with perfectly zeroed rifles without using much ammo!.
    tetawa, Shearer, Mooseman and 3 others like this.

Even a blind squirrel finds a nut sometimes...............

But a blind squirrel couldn't shoot a 270.