Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Colonial Ammunition Company - History

Name:  IMG_9558.JPG
Views: 495
Size:  134.7 KB
    Identify your target beyond all doubt

Quote Originally Posted by muzza View Post
    Pm me your details and I will pass them along to the guy in the Cartridge Club who has done by far the most work on the products and history of CAC.
    Sure thing, will have to get my hands on them first

Name:  cac1.JPG
Views: 453
Size:  86.4 KB
    Name:  cac2.JPG
Views: 460
Size:  87.4 KB

I asked @gundoc on another forum why CAC bit the dust.

When I started shooting in the beginning of the 70's a box of CAC 303 went for about $5.00, not bad ammo but then we didn't use the more expensive stuff especially on goats. When I started working for the Pest Destruction Board in 78 we used CAC super and subsonic rounds( in plain white box) The super sonic round was called SR5 (I think ) but we found that both rounds were very inconsistent some subs went off better than the super sonic rounds. We also got a lot of duds which we would have to check to see if the bullet wasn't stuck in the barrel. Needless to say it was good when we switched to Winchester ammo which was good stuff.

In the early 70's I used a CAC round that had a nickel case shooting a 38 gr HP(Hi Speed I think it was called) which was a really good round back then. Used it for all the small game including goats, heaps of goats fell to that round.