Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: CRC or WD40 for maintenance?

Quote Originally Posted by samusugiru View Post
    Hi guys,
    I'm new to cleaning guns. Is it OK to use CRC or WD40 for lube when cleaning a gun?
    Here you go samusugiru
    The Practical Guide To Bolt Action Rifle Accurizing and Maintenance
    samusugiru likes this.

For storing any of my gun parts, Lanox is my go-to product. Inox and lanolin oil mixed together in essence. The lanolin oil lasts for a long time on the surface of metal products.
    Steve123 likes this.

CRC 5.56 to avoid at all cost on blued guns. There are rust removing ingredients inside and you will deteriorate the bluing of nice guns.
    Use CRC long life, inox or wd-40 or any good gun oil on blued guns.
    I use the CRC 5.56 to remove the rust of the stainless guns ( yes stainless rust , particularly inside the hidden part of the stock when the gun has never been maintained.)
    For long term storage there is a CRC dry film can, or CRC gel, or lanacote from CRC which is a lanolin/ fish oil based grease.

As mentionné above, read the excellent book from Nathan foster.
    Last edited by Friwi; 11-06-2017 at 08:20 PM.

Despite having lots of the very best bore cleaners sitting around home, I am always amazed at the propellant fouling that Inox brings out of the bore. Just when you think you have it super clean with your wonder bore solvent, Inox seems to find more!