Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Like Tree30Likes

Thread: Low recoil Factory 308 Ammo

Quote Originally Posted by Happy Jack View Post
    I was under the impression but I'm no expert far from it that a low recoiling 308 is a 7mm08.

Doesn't help though in this case.
    I wonder what accuracy would be like. Assuming they chamber and fire...
    Micky Duck likes this.

Reiterate a decent recoil pad.
    The 8x57 I have is quite light and after a dozen shots or so the shoulder was starting to think I will have a mark later.
    Didnt have a proper screw on one but shortened for later and put the limbsaver slip-on I had on.
    It's the one with the round chambers.
    184grs nudging 2600fps (packet data) from a 24" barrel and mine is 22 and a bit I think so not far away
    Can honestly say it is now a pussycat.
    Even my mate said the same. Not very booty at all
    Wouldn't hesitate to replace the hard as rocks recoil pad on the 416 with one when I do bin it.
    Obviously doesnt do much for muzzle flip though.
    Depends 9n your shooting but if not carrying it far maybe drill out the butt and put a heap of lead shot in there.
    Micky Duck likes this.

try the 308 subsonic rounds I used to use the Winchester super x 185 gr hollow point subsonic also fiocchi does a subsonic round

try custom cartridges in taupo, Mark would sort this for them
    Micky Duck likes this.

swap for a 243 /7M08, or are they in a part of aussie that has large critters, cattle, camels etc (Sambar)
    as noted above you can get reduced load factory ammo for 308 & 7m08, however I have no idea how easy it is to ship ammo around in aussie.