Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Ruahini NZDA Hunters Biathlon May 2013

Quote Originally Posted by Gillie View Post
    Don't worry Rushy, Vietnamcam, i'm sitting here laughing my arse off

As i said i have been running field shoots for 4-5 years now and one consistent comment i have got all the way through has been "You should make them run to get their heaert rate up and then see how they shoot". Every field shoot, short or long range, whether i have run it or not, i have heard a comment about introducing physical stress. Vietnamcam's comment honestly surprised me. After a few years of "You should make them run" i finally set a shoot where people are encouraged to move and i get a comment like that.

Cheers, Vietnamcam the shoot was a lot of fun. Even while managing it i was wishing i could have competed. We do try and set shoots to reflect hunting conditions and i can think of several occassions where i have been offerred a shot while climbing a hill, or shooting mobs of goats when i have had to shift position, or maybe just getting into a position with the animal already spooked...
    Maybe people don't have to run any more because they don't have to rely on a kill for their income. I've certainly done a lot of running to get to an animal/s before they disappeared into the bush or over a ridge line. You can certainly put a spurt on if the animal has a big $ sign on its side The shoot was totally realistic for this old bastard, and it was one of the best days I've had away from hunting for many years. I can't wait for the next one.