Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: hi there

oh wow, did not expect this to explode

308 is good, have nothing against that, but 7mm08 seems a bit lighter with a bit flatter trajectory with slightly less of a kick. I've shot both, I prefer 7-08.
    223 is too light, I'm sorry, I'm not that good with getting that close to a deer I like shooting a 223, but not hunting with it - too loud for small game, too small for large game. If I wanted to go light I would have gone .243win.

Quote Originally Posted by anothermous View Post
    Hi
    Jack here, from Christchurch.
    Not sure what to say except that I'm new to all this. Quite busy at work (IT) so not too many free weekends.
    22LR and 12ga (and probably 7mm08 planned), I like rabbit hunting (for stew and dog food) but don't know anyone with land to hunt on, so usually just go and take very long walks around DOC-managed land. I'm not very good at it though, I suppose
    Anyways.
    Would be keen to learn and partner up with some people that know what they're doing. Would be keen to go deer hunting but not even sure where to start (and borrow a centerfire from.
    I only hunt what I can eat.
    My understanding is that DOC become very grumpy if they find a 12g or 22LR on their hallowed terrain.

oh wow, did not expect this to explode

308 is good, have nothing against that, but 7mm08 seems a bit lighter with a bit flatter trajectory with slightly less of a kick. I've shot both, I prefer 7-08.