Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree23Likes
  • 7 Post By Wurzelmangler
  • 4 Post By Wurzelmangler
  • 3 Post By Wurzelmangler
  • 1 Post By Wurzelmangler
  • 8 Post By Wurzelmangler

Thread: Knifemaking photo-essay (1)

Knifemaking photo-essay (1)

A big thanks for all the kind comments left on my last knife post (https://www.nzhuntingandshooting.co....knives-104619/). It seems there was sufficient interest in a knifemaking photo-essay, so this will be the first part.

I should mention that I’m self-taught, and mainly make knives as a hobby. I’m definitely not an “expert”.

A note on safety: at a minimum I wear safety glasses all the time while working. For some jobs I wear a safety visor as well.

The posts will describe how I made the knife shown in the image below. In the interests of keeping this “essay” to a manageable size, I haven’t attempted in-depth explanations [that would require me to write a book :-) ].
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Wurzelmangler; 27-05-2024 at 09:42 AM.

I make most of my knives using steel from large circular saw blades (nominally L6 grade carbon steel), although I have also worked with D2, 440C, and Uddeholm Elmax.

The large circular saw blades are about 3.8 mm thick. Using a 9" angle grinder with cutting disc, I cut out rough blanks. I anneal the blanks by heating them to 760°C, and then letting them cool slowly in the furnace overnight. The annealed blanks are now soft and can be readily drilled, filed, ground, and sanded.

The numbers refer to the images below.