Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: Bare shaft tuning

Name:  20200413_161348.jpg
Views: 463
Size:  2.34 MB
    So the plot thickens. After getting what I thought was a perfect arrow flight on paper turns out to be a big unaligned mess when I took it outside to test. My arrow pokes way out to one side. And my sights had to be set even further out to that side to get the arrow to hit the target at 10 yards. Any more ideas?

OK ......
    I’m no expert, but that setup is completely wrong .
    My advice if you want it is this .

Take your sight off the bow , adjust your rest so that the center of the arrow is 13/16 off the riser .
    Set your nock height at 90 degrees , you can play with the height as things progress, but start at 90 .
    Then the real mission starts , because your shooting form now comes into play .
    If you cant consistently shoot with the correct form you will chase your tail .
    You need to blank bail shoot for a while then try paper tuning.
    FALL IN LOVE WITH THE NUMBERS , NOT THE IDEA

Quote Originally Posted by Ground Control View Post
    OK ......
    I’m no expert, but that setup is completely wrong .
    My advice if you want it is this .

Take your sight off the bow , adjust your rest so that the center of the arrow is 13/16 off the riser .
    Set your nock height at 90 degrees , you can play with the height as things progress, but start at 90 .
    Then the real mission starts , because your shooting form now comes into play .
    If you cant consistently shoot with the correct form you will chase your tail .