Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree11Likes
  • 4 Post By Ted6. 5
  • 4 Post By stug
  • 1 Post By Ted6. 5
  • 1 Post By MB
  • 1 Post By 7mm Rem Mag

Thread: Lesson from the weekend hunt

Lesson from the weekend hunt

Hi All

So I'm new to bow hunting, have shot a few goats but no deer.

Was away for the weekend with a couple of mates who were rifle hunting and me with the bow. I had a yearling hind come down a game trail and turn broadside at about 15m, wind was good. When she looked away I came up to draw and she looked up at the same time so I paused. She looked at me for a bit the trotted off.

On reflection I think I should have completed the draw because I probably would have got a shot away.

Next time eh.
    308, Shearer, Micky Duck and 1 others like this.

You never know with deer, I was bow hunting on the weekend, had a deer pop over the ridge 40yd away. I just froze and looked at it, it did the same for a while, it then trotted off through the scrub towards an opening. I nocked the arrow and clipped the release aid on. The deer came into the gap and stopped and looked at me. I pulled up my rangefinder and ranged it, then started drawing my bow, took me two goes to get it drawn. Got anchored and the sights on the deer and it ran off. If I had gotten drawn first go I might have got the arrow away.
    But same trip I had several deer take one look at me and bugger off.
    Trout, Shearer, Micky Duck and 1 others like this.

It's not just me then ��
    Better luck next time Stug
    308 likes this.

if in doubt dont fluff about....up and let it rip.
    75/15/10 black powder matters

MB