Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree24Likes

Thread: Hard CCI Primers

Hard CCI Primers

Morning all.

I'm a NOOB to reloading but have been getting good results out of my sako .270 with my developed hand loads. However out of the 60 or so rounds Iv'e loaded and fired I've had two hard primers that have failed to fire - CCI large rifle primers.

Once was on an animal that walked off having heard the "click" the other was on a farm whilst doing some load development. The bullet on farm I continued to reset the firing pin, by lifting the bolt handle and firing the round again whilst still in chamber. About several attempts and a strong indent in the primer and it still didn't discharge.

Both "miss-fires" were inspected back at home and deconstructed to ensure the load was correct etc - I could see no errors in the reloading process I had undertaken.

In previous factory ammo I had never ever experienced this - is it a reoladers issue when handloading, CCI primers are hard or am I doing something wrong?
    Tech likes this.
    Was BINGO the name of the farmer or the dog?

A sequence you may like to consider that should identify the cause.
    Run a straight edge across the case head is the primer below or flush with the case. Seating too deep can cause it. More a case fault as the pockets too deep.
    Deconstruct the round, deprime it carefully inspect the primer does it look ok. Is the anvil missing if it is it may go off when deprimed so wear ear muffs
    Wrap it in paper loosely and drop it in a fire outside did it explode. Compound was ok