Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Which pack for me?

Which pack for me?

After a few decent walks I've become sick and tired of the uncomfortable kathmandu pack that I've been using for a few years, I dont even know the name of it...
    Looking for a new pack that can definitely take enough gear for 2 nights (my general max trip) So: Tent, bag, mat, cooker, food, clothing and general stuff.

I have no idea where to start other than I would guess a 65lt pack?

For the right pack - ie comfortable with a semi decent load I'm willing to pay around $500 but it needs to be really nice quality that will last.

Macpac cascade
    Cactus Hector
    Cactus huntaway - too small?

Any others?

K2 Hunter...external frame,nice sold heavy canvas,comfortable harness,built to last........ I waited 20 years to get one and now wish I had done it sooner. this pack will see me out and probably go on to do someone after me. the zip off daybag is big enough for day gear/hunting gear.
    sometimes likes this.

I really like the look of that mate, the small one looks like the business @ 70lt.
    What's the benefits of a aluminium frame?

I really like the eberlestock Just one packs, I have an older one and I had a red hind and a fellow hind packed in it (boned out) and carried it about 8km out

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

There was a Macpac Cascade on here recently... Happy with mine

allot depends on your build not the manufacturer of the pack, some packs are short and wide, some are tall and narrow like the person using it. best to go try a few on
    gadgetman and Shearer like this.