Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By Bob Da Browning
  • 1 Post By madds
  • 2 Post By jakesae101

Thread: beginner shooting

beginner shooting

Hey guys can I get some advice

Im keen to get into some clay target shooting but definately need some more practice before get involved in any comps etc

Do clubs have beginner or practice sessions and how much would they cost?

rr

Clubs should have a Coach who should be able to help you, cost should just be the targets & your ammo. I am a Coach & we do it to foster the sport. Coaching clinics are sometimes held by visiting Coaches who sometimes charge. Try & contact your local club or the New Zealand Claytarget Association, they have Websites
    mikee and PERRISCICABA like this.

RichieRich, where do you live?
    The Sporting boys at North Canterbury are running a monthly Sunday practice.
    They have a 'soft' field with coaching and a 'harder' field for those wanting to be challanged.
    Really good idea I must say, worked really well.
    Munsey likes this.

one of my biggest piece of advice is if you don't have a gun don't rush out and buy one. Gun fit is really really important there's normally plenty of people round to try some guns out and work what fits you and what doesn't . Most clubs will have a coaching day to help out beginners
    R93 and 308jase like this.

+1 On fit

I had the chance to try a few different guns for a while and it was great, I had my eye on a Miroku but once I picked up a few tips on shooting I realised that it just didn't fit me.....ended up with a cheap and cheerful Webley & Scott

R93