Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree34Likes

Thread: .223 Subsonic

.223 Subsonic

Hi guys, Newbie here. I am looking to reload 223 subsonic. I have bullets from55 to 75 grain. Titegroup and AP70 powder. Anyone with any info on where to start. I have titegroup loads for 77gr 64gr and 55gr

AR7
    Hi Bob
    Belmont Wanganui do make subsonic .223 ammo from time to time
    i pulled one apart 55 grain projectile x 4.10 grain Trail Boss powder
    what twist rate is your barrel as this will indicate how heavy your pill will be
    and if your look with in this forum pages this topic has been covered with good info
    Do you intend to hunt with these or is it just plinking fun
    cheers to all

Everyone says Trail Boss. But it is easier to find hens teeth now. From what I have read the Winchester XPR in 223 is 1 in 8 twist. Just hunting bunnies but am finding my .22 subs not keeping them down(shooter error). Lots of adapting post stroke. left trigger right eye and right hand support on a monopod. also cheek weld not consistent. I KNOW everything wrong but I HAVE to do something!!!

Practice more with the .22lr more before hunting with it is the answer. Bunnies should be dead on the spot with it. Poor shot placement with a .223 sub won't perform much better, quite likely worse as the projectiles won't expand very well at subsonic speeds whereas the .22lr projectiles will.

You are using hollow point .22lr ammo I assume?
    woods223, techno retard and blip like this.