Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree16Likes
  • 3 Post By Micky Duck
  • 1 Post By blip
  • 1 Post By Xomphec
  • 1 Post By Rated M for Magnum
  • 4 Post By Jaco Goosen
  • 1 Post By Xomphec
  • 2 Post By Nakihunter
  • 2 Post By drunk_mexican

Thread: New to reloading - need to Check my thinking

New to reloading - need to Check my thinking

I'm brand new to reloading and I don't have a sounding board for it in real life, so I thought it best to ask here.

I'm looking to work up a load using:
    PPU brass cases
    Sierra Gamechanger 90gr 6mm projectiles
    CCI primers
    ADI 2208 (between 34 -36.5 Grains) (44800- 50400CUP) (as per ADI 10th edition manual)

What concerns me is the powder charge listed in the manual is for the 90gr Speer Soft point. A very different projectile.
    Now I don't personally see any harm in just buying some Speer Soft point and using those. But it would be nice to use what I already have.
    I suppose, what I am asking is, to what degree is powder charge influenced by bullet shape/style versus projectile weight? If at all

See if the good bugger @veitnamcam can swing by and give you a run down

once upon a time no manuals had different projectiles listed..just the weight..BECAUSE reloaders would start at low end and work thier way up till got nice accurate load..then be happy and go hunting/shooting....
    strangely enough this still works just fine.
    the sierra may be harder than the speer,but unless you loading to top velocity load you will be fine.
    good on you for asking.
    75/15/10 black powder matters