Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree100Likes

Thread: tight closing the bolt

tight closing the bolt

Gidday guys an gals
    so ive been reloading for a few years, never stop learning either, but ive just started loading for a new .308. I am using once used cases (Hornady, and Winchester) and have de primed them, and resized the necks, installed new primers, poured powder, then seated projectile on first one. All measurements are identical to factory ammo, case length, overall length, projectile seated to correct depth etc. I tried it in rifle to make sure it fitted into mag, and went to load to check seating depth etc, but the bolt was really tight closing, in fact too tight really. I put ink on neck to check for scraping on breech etc but nothing.........and nothing on projectile either........ I tried another factory round and it worked well. Spent ages going over measurements with vernier calipers and apart from a slight variation on the bottom of the neck 1/2 a millimetre, everything is the same. Tried another couple of cases, so as to use both brands, but same problem. So the question goes begging.......... anyone else found this problem before? I load successfully for .270WSM. .300WSM. .223WSSM, .7mm-08, .243, so not totally green-horn lol
    Cheers in advance guys
    Shane.
    Moa Hunter and dannyb like this.

Cant offer much advice but was the brass originally fired in the chamber of the rifle your loading for ?
    I did have this issue once a while back in my 270wsm and it was fixed by winding my full length sizer die down incrementally until the brass chambered.