Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree11Likes
  • 1 Post By Yesmate
  • 6 Post By Micky Duck
  • 4 Post By Barry the hunter

Thread: After advice for recent trip bush stalking.

KJL

After advice for recent trip bush stalking.

Recently went bush, and I'm still learning the bushman's ways with deer behaviour in winter.
    Found a couple little guts recently with heaps of fresh deer sign, very open under canopy. Alas no deer present on this day, but had to have been there very very recently, high traffic, with large prints spreading out on the toes, and dew claw marks as well.
    Wind was a good head wind.
    The weather was good on this day, but had been crap for some time.
    There is Pre feeding in progress for 1080 drop next month
    Pig hunters present knocking a few off that were feeding on pre feed, but would be couple hundred meters from the deer's location.
    Would the deer have moved just on this day due to the good weather? Should I go back to same place but on a shitty day to catch them in there?
    Or, will the pig hunting and pre feeding activity push them further out, and I would be wasting my time as they won't be back?
    It's a 4 hr drive for me and I'm wondering if I hit it one last time before the 1080 drop period begins, as this area will be out if action for quite a while.

Thanks
    Kj.

if the sign was fresh and conditions ie wind and your stalking ie not to noisy was on point then that area is probably just a pass through area to where they're feeding or resting.youll find heaps of spots like that in the bush-the key is find where they are resting up during the day to ambush them.
    KJL likes this.