Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Like Tree181Likes

Thread: Beginner Hunter - need advice

As a newbie myself, yet to take my first deer. I have been consistently bumping into deer in different areas of the country (pureora and my two trips into the ruahines) and the main reason to having not have them on the deck to date sofar is.
    1. Bullet type, shot a hind in the shoulder / higher up in the shoulder than I would have liked with Hornady 165gr Sst 308 and it went through and through at very close range. Spent 2 hours trying to find the animal with no success (had 5 of them so trying to follow all 5 tracks in steep thick bush crossing over with minimal blood trail was challenging). I've since done some homework and will be having soft points (deer was maybe 10m away at best)
    2. I've been going too fast and bumping into them and having deer take off. Walk like a deer was the advice I got from here and it works. (I have also had days where I'm trying to cover ground, you've gotta walk the distance to learn areas and I've now clicked up a few 100kms of walking public land)

My own observations, some may disagree but deer can be thick as two short planks just after dawn and before dusk. I've had a few occasions now where I'm walking along not very quietly and have been able to stop, have the deer look at me and I've had time to remove scope cover, put one up the spout and then decide not a clear enough shot with the back drop / bad shot placement opportunities.
    Rn-85 and Shippo like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Shippo View Post
    Hey Trout!