Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree16Likes
  • 10 Post By Stocky
  • 1 Post By nor-west
  • 1 Post By jakewire
  • 3 Post By gadgetman
  • 1 Post By jakewire

Thread: Big (potentially final) South Island Trip

Big (potentially final) South Island Trip

Hey guys I've just had leave approved for late march to do a big trip. This is potentially my final big trip in the south as I may be moving back up north next year for my partners job. I've been chasing a mature red for a few years now and would love to have a good shot of being in the right place. I've typically hunted North Canterbury and have seen a few middle aged animals but nothing really in the upper age bracket. I'd love a shot at a something special but also would like to look over some new country. I know that's somewhat counter intuitive but I may not get a chance for a few more years.

I love to know peoples suggestions on general areas that are a must hunt. I'd like to be on the divide as I get a thrill out of that sort of country. I'm thinking about the Rakaia/West Coast area I think but have done a small amount of hunting down around the Ahuriri but unsure of the quality of the genetics though I imagine they would throw to the otago type Scottish heads.

I was also wondering when going down the West Coast that the heads transition from rakaia type to the otago type heads. I'd love anything and something throwing strongly towards the traditional heritages would be awesome.

I'm not looking for actual spots just ideas on people's thoughts on must hunt areas and a few querys on then distribution of the original herds. If you'd rather not post publicly feel free to PM me.

Thanks