Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree49Likes
  • 27 Post By cally woo
  • 1 Post By Micky Duck
  • 1 Post By Friwi
  • 1 Post By stug
  • 3 Post By Kelton
  • 5 Post By RUMPY
  • 4 Post By MB
  • 1 Post By MB
  • 1 Post By Slug
  • 1 Post By Inder
  • 1 Post By cally woo
  • 1 Post By cally woo
  • 1 Post By Scouser
  • 1 Post By cally woo

Thread: Just got my first animal ever! (Bow hunting)

cally woo

Just got my first animal ever! (Bow hunting)

Have been practicing for the last 8 months with my bow. I am new to hunting. I spooked a mob of goats up a stream like 3 different times (was moving too fast and not stopping to check my surroundings enough. Classic) I was on the way back and was not expecting anything but managed to spot the mob again. I took my shoes off and dropped my pack and crawled into a range I was comfortable with. Ranged in at 26 meters which is a shot I have done hundreds of times. kneeling shot. drew back and took ages for my pin to get onto the sweet spot. Drew back, and release. Saw the arrow hit right behind the front leg. Waited 15 mins and looked for a blood trail for a good 30 minutes and couldn't find anything but managed to find the billy about 15 metres away in the bush. Pink blood, right behind the leg. Mid way up. I was super happy with my shot placement but was definitely disappointed that there was no big blood trail. I am just lucky it didn't go far. Anyway, it was an exciting experience and I am so happy that I have proved to myself that I can actually do it. I'm stoked. Any tips would be great but I'm more just sharing because my missus wouldn't understand the endeavour.