Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Like Tree30Likes

Thread: Air rifle

I have been hunting with springer for about 5 years , a .177 and a .22. Both drop rabbits , its all about shot placement.
    I would be talking to mintie… I know him from the airgun forums and he is a wizzzzzz with air rifles. I actually brought a cometa fusion/swapped with him and still have it .
    (hope you don't mind me mentioning this mintie) . I have only just rebuilt the cometa after putting about four tins of pellets thru her.
    Anyways springers are great for hunting/plinking.
    gadgetman and Mintie like this.
    Patience Is A Virtue

I nail a few possums about the place with a 22cal multi pump.
    Benjamin 392 factory rated to about 12ftlb but tuned to 20ftlb. Possums in trees fall down with 6 pumps out of a possible 14.
    For research on individual rifles and types of power plant spend some time here.
    https://www.pyramydair.com/blog/
    NB multi pumps are fun in that you can shoot very quietly at say 5 mtr with kids on 2 pumps or step it up on fur.
    Biggest problem is bullet drop so you need to pick a power level and shoot at intervals out to ????30mtr.
    Z

Thanks guys for all your info.
    Am wanting to shoot some pest birds in a shed on a farm at a range of no more than say 50 meters and maybe some bunnies and or possums.
    I do have a .22 Ruger for bunnies etc but wont always have it with me.
    ULTIMITSU If I started using an Air Rifle in my back yard then I would be in some deep trouble with the boss lady at home AND of course the boys in Blue.

Quote Originally Posted by ZQLewis View Post