Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Gun shop recommendations for Hamilton?

Little Fox

Gun shop recommendations for Hamilton?

Sorry if this has been answered already -- I did search but didn't find anything.

I'm new to shooting guns (lots of experience shooting bows). I had the chance to shoot a friend's rifles a couple weeks ago, and now NEED to expand my repoitoire of weapons that can kill things far away I love my bow, but a rifle is something else.

I haven't got my FAL yet, so I'm planning to get an air rifle to learn basic marksmanship. However, I'll also be looking to get a .223 when I have my FAL (unless someone convinces me that another caliber is better).

I'd like to buy local, just so I can take the gun back if I need work done. So my question is, out of the tiny selection of places in Hamilton, is there anywhere that's particularly good (or particularly terrible)? I kind of distrust chains, so I'm not super keen on Hunting & Fishing. But maybe I'm just being silly. There's also a place on Kahikatea Drive that I haven't been to -- is it any good? Or is there anywhere else I don't know about? A lot of places still don't know how to list themselves on the internet ;P

Thanks in advance.