Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree84Likes

Thread: New shooter advice.

Ejected

New shooter advice.

Hey people,

This might have been done to death, if so I apoligise, but I am new to shooting and need some advice as to my first rifle. I am looking at chasing pigs around on a bit of bushland my mate owns and also deer stalking in the Kaimais. I should probably get a .308, but my old man's getting one, so I had my heart set on a .270 for something different. A few mates that shoot scared me off it due to the recoil not being kind to a newby so I am thinking of either a 6.5x55 or a 7mm08. Wadda reckon?
    Hunt4life likes this.

To start with you want to shoot a lot, assuming your stuck to Factory ammo go in a see what they have at the best price anf best range
    sfa difference between most except 6.5x55 and 260 have very expensive factory ammo.

Don't get the .270 because it's 'different', get it because it will out-shoot the ol'man;s .308 any day.. @Toby will be along soon to tell you different...and welcome to the forum as another Kaimai browser.
    Which is worse, ignorance or apathy...I don't know and don't care.

Nah nah, get a .270. Best cartridge ever.
    Spook and BRADS like this.

In a Tikka T3 too
    BRADS likes this.

try before you buy .if your mates have these calibres ask em (politely) if they'll let you fire a couple of shots out of each.ask em about their rifles what types of hunting ,expense involvedetc etc.
    once you have all this info then sit down and think it through.when you have one or two picked out go back and repeat the process.