Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree32Likes

Thread: Rifle Scope

Rifle Scope

Hi all,

I am a newbie hunter and have brought myself a rifle and am looking at scopes for it. Any advice on type, size etc, My budget will be in the region of $1k -1.5k and I won't be shooting at much over about 300m.

Depends on the rifle and the type of hunting you hope to do with it. Details please.
    Grandpamac.

Although you are a newbie hunter, are you versed in shooting in general? 300m is further than a lot of people realize without practice/experience

Thanks for your responses, yep Preacher I am versed in shooting as whilst I am a newbie now I use to hunt regularly when I was much younger and the equipment has moved on so much its like starting all over again! I have a Lupo 308 and will be mainly hunting in the bush / clearings of the Tararuas
    tikka, Micky Duck and Preacher like this.

do you know what magnification range you are wanting? I wouldnt go above 3x minimum for bush hunting.
    2-7? 3-9 used to be pretty standard and will do everything you say. 3-15 more common now might be a bit overkill for what you want some people like the extra magnification. Also handy if youre shooting rabbits or shoot longer ranges ocassionally.
    Most decent scopes now have lifetime no questions asked warranty's. So 2nd hand buying takes alot of risk out of it.
    Alot of scopes also have a ballistic turret for dialing longer ranges, i think in alot of cases its worth getting if you getting a new scope even if you don't plan on using it to begin with.