Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Like Tree35Likes

Thread: Scopes that can take a beating

Nightforce can definitely handle the abuse, I’ve been using them for 20+ years, had them bounce off the quad at high speed a few times, knocked up on rocks climbing on all fours tahr and chamois hunting, bounce around to back floor of helicopters, arse up sliding down icy snow chutes and never had any issues with holding zero or dialing. Had a couple of the first gen non zero stop NXS scopes that had the shit thrashed out of them too with no issues, except getting lost on the turret between shots “ that wouldn’t happen if I had zero stop”
    Currently using two NXS compacts 2.5-10x42 on a 300BLK and a 16” 308win, I was load testing both of them other week and both shot 2” group on steel at 400m. Also run a Atacr 4-16x42 that was on a 270win and now sits on top of a 338edge.
    matagouri likes this.

Caretaker - Gone But Not Forgotten jakewire's Avatar
    If you let us know your actual budget, then what you can actually stretch to we would be in a much better position to help

The was [ I haven't looked today] a 4x14 leupy for 700$ might be gone though.

I've bashed a VX3 leupold on a rock so it dented the tube, looked like shite but the rings were good and the scope still held zero.

I have found that The leupolds, VX3 or less in the past haven't exactly moved where they should each time but once set they tend to hold fast.
    That's my experience only and I haven't any experience with the Burris/ Bushnell/ Sightron type scope in the same class.
    Moa Hunter likes this.
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?