Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Like Tree48Likes

Thread: Thermals. Whats the point of no return.

[QUOTE=Ultimitsu;1019644]I am not familiar with thermals but I believe it works the same way as digital cameras. That I have plenty of experience.

Excellent write up there

My XM50 Thermion has the new 12um
    Apparently - it is better than the XP50 Thermion "over" 200m - but the XP50 eats it under 200m
    I have found it acceptable even last night a Hind in the + hairs at 25m was clear and definition was exceptional (no I did not shoot as was waiting for yearling to show but it slipped by without viewing)
    To use it inside 100m as a "locating" device would be hard work - but its not designed for that - its a finishing off tool - a rifle mount Scope.

Canterbury, home of the big Rakaia Red Stag
    Yep, great write up. Helps me understand more about the whole system and FOV relative to apeture size etc.

The hand held thermal spotter is a game changer for stalking and the one which most people use in the UK is the Pulsar XQ38f and thats both professional and amateur stalkers. I bought mine 4 years ago for night vision work/vermin control and its daylight stalking use at the time was relatively underused however I would not stalk without it and have driven 10 miles home to retrieve it when forgotten.
    Buy once cry once and here a new unit will cost you £2000 but of all the stuff out there and there is an awful lot of crap the XQ38 is the one to get in terms of field of view and image quality.