Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: What to buy for long range

Quote Originally Posted by username View Post
    I had a 7RM that i wanted to cut down. So researched the fuck out of it and a 20" 7RM will only do the same as a 20" 284 or 280 7-08 308 but with more recoil and muzzle blast (fixed by suppressor) and waste powder. So i sold my 7RM and got a 308. This is just what i read. im not a ballistics expert but i did troll the net looking for an excuse to do it, but no one said it was a good idea and they were doing better than smaller cals

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I am been a bit of the devils advocate as I undestand what you are saying well.
    Quicker powder and lighter higher bc projectiles are the way forward for cut down barrels.
    One of my favorite rifles that has been cut down is a kimber 300wsm with a mk4 dialler, it is a seriously mean bit of kit that is very light short and bloody accurate as we have shot it out to 975 on steel with good results.
    That chambering is a classic for a hi performance cut down rifle that still has some serious legs
    My favorite sentences i like to hear are - I suppose so. and Send It!

It seems short action magnums do much better in short barrels WSM RCM SAUM i dont get it? I will keep my 30-375 with brake at 26" and 308 at 20" without a can. Best of both worlds.