Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: InReach compared to Zoleo

InReach compared to Zoleo

I don't currently have a satellite communications unit for backcountry use. Have only recently been made aware of the Zoleo option. I'm no expert on these things. Anything else out there I'm missing ?
    Any recommendations from users on the useability of these please ? An important consideration for me is access to weather forecasts.
    Also, how do subscription costs compare and can subs. be deactivated / reactivated at will ?
    Thankyou for any info forthcoming.
    Cheers
    Bergara_bangstick likes this.

Talk to Tony at Trackme website they can answer almost all your questions. Some subs can be put on hold. I don't have one but used to have access to an InReach. Spot is the 3rd option or if you like dealing with Muppets OneNZ will have text coverage on your cellphone this year they say.
    Happy Jack.

Zoleo is a pretty good option- Unlimited Messaging costs 80AUD/month- have to pay for the first 3 activated months before you can put it on hold, once on hold it costs around 4AUD a month to upkeep the phone number and email associated with the account.

Weather updating on it has been pretty accurate and haven't had too many hassles sending messages to the family or my location, just sometimes gets held up waiting for a satellite to fly over

Quote Originally Posted by SikaHuntaa View Post