Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Like Tree96Likes

Thread: SCALPEL FOR HUNTING ?

Ok, so just my two cents.

I have been using an Eaglehawk knives talon exclusively for the last three years. Its a steel handle which accepts any number 4 scalpel blade. I have had two iterations, the first which was originally sold in 2018, and the second which was released last year. Functionally there is no difference between the two, the handle thickness has been reduced to reduce weight slightly.

https://eaglehawkknives.com/products/the-talon

Name:  IMG_20210410_104125.jpg
Views: 700
Size:  2.22 MB

The main draw for me was the weight, at about 60 grams with the sheath, and the rigidity of the knife. I had a Havalon Piranta prior to this, and although it was great, the fact that it folded was slightly off-putting.

I have never felt as though I needed a larger, or more rigid knife. I acknowledge that it does take an amount of finesse to remove hip joints, and you have to carefully target any bone junctions with the knife. One on occasion I managed to slightly bend the mounting point of the blade on my earlier model. This isn't a design flaw of the knife, more just user error, as I used the knife to split the sternum on a deer.

Name:  IMG_20201022_205227.jpg
Views: 576
Size:  1.96 MB

As you can see from the photo, the bend was minimal and didn't effect the functionality of the knife.

Thus far, I have used the knife to breakdown sika, red and fallow deer, along with Tahr and Chamois.

Name:  IMG_20191230_203021.jpg
Views: 674
Size:  3.81 MB
    Name:  IMG_20210630_114331.jpg
Views: 620
Size:  4.23 MB