Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree12Likes
  • 1 Post By Shearer
  • 6 Post By Husky1600
  • 1 Post By Jit
  • 4 Post By hotbarrels

Thread: What Binoculars to buy ??

What Binoculars to buy ??

Hi Team, so I would like some advice on what Binoculars to buy.
    I have just sold my Vortex 12 x 50 Diamondbacks.
    Great Binoculars but more power than I need and also physically larger and heavier than I want. I am trying to lighten my load as I get older 😌.
    I have $600 to $700 max to spend.
    Binoculars aren't something I have had a lot of experience with.

Buy used alpha or near alpha binos, e.g., Leica Trinovid. Older eyes need the most they can get. If you are hunting high, then you will need 10x42, if low, 7x42 or 8x42.

It's funny you sold your Diamondbacks. The 8x42 version have good reviews in that price bracket. Don't pay more than $430 and pocket the difference for more gear.

Always identify your target beyond all doubt because you never miss and I will be missed

Quote Originally Posted by Eat Meater View Post
    It's funny you sold your Diamondbacks. The 8x42 version have good reviews in that price bracket. Don't pay more than $430 and pocket the difference for more gear.

Always identify your target beyond all doubt because you never miss and I will be missed
    I liked the Diamondbacks, just brought too much magnification for my purpose

10x32s are a great compact size if you want to loose a little weight and with decent glass give little away to the 42s.
    I use Kowa 10x32s and after selling my Minox 10x44s wouldn't go back to big binos.
    viper likes this.
    Experience. What you get just after you needed it.