Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: Much Better Grouping with my Rossi .357 Levergun

im still a novice here, so feel free to correct or ignore this, but is it not just as simple as bullet stability? the rossi has 1:30 twist, if you are firing 158gr projectiles at subsonic velocity, the barrel twist is not fast enough to stabilise them. you would need to go lighter and/or faster. but interesting the deeper seating made a difference, makes sense that getting rid of some of the empty space in the cartridge would make it more consistent burning as cordite says.

You may be on to something Mr Bang. Ive been thinking about the weight of the projectile in relation to the slow rifling twist, but never considered the velocity as a factor. While I've reloaded a lot of bullets and had success with my .308 projects, I'm still a reloading novice myself. There is a nice Lee mould which makes 125 grain flat pointed bullets and I'd like to try some of those. I'd hoped that I might find someone who could spare me a few to try because it would be a bummer to buy the mould and cast a batch of bullets only to find that there is no significant difference in accuracy.

If I buy any more bullet moulds, I'd also like to get the nice electric lead melter pot that Lee makes. I generally use a big nozzle on a gas torch to heat up a pot full of lead, but it is relatively hazardous and it is difficult to hold a steady temperature. I suppose I could get an electric hot plate which would be a step in the right direction.