Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree17Likes
  • 13 Post By veryfuturistic
  • 1 Post By kukuwai
  • 1 Post By veryfuturistic
  • 2 Post By No good names left

Thread: DIY (Dehydrate-It-Yourself)

DIY (Dehydrate-It-Yourself)

Doing a bit of yard work last week I noticed that the tool library I frequent has a couple of dehydrators for loan. I am always keen to give it something a crack, and while I’m still learning the finer points of hunting, I am pretty handy in the kitchen. Returning my tools on Saturday I had a dehydrator of fairly good vintage waiting for me.

Now for my Julia Child moment – “here’s one I prepared earlier.” On Friday night I had cooked up a big lamb chilli (rough recipe at the end) served over Franks deli dogs and some home-baked ficelles. First time baking a soft bun – cracking feed. This was all quite hands-on eating, so I neglected to take pictures.

Come Saturday my leftover chilli was attentively laid out on the dehydrator and cranked up to 60 deg. Easy as.

Name:  IMG20231118164857.jpg
Views: 255
Size:  193.1 KB

I stirred them about and rotated the trays, eventually just crumbling the chilli with my fingertips as it dried to make sure it wasn’t clumping up and had an even texture. I only checked it four or five times across 10-11 hrs. of dehydration.

All told it made approximately 350 grams of dehydrated chilli. Portioned out at about 60gms, they will make a generous feed with a bit of mash or your carb of choice.

Name:  IMG20231119094611.jpg
Views: 253
Size:  179.1 KB