Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree30Likes

Thread: Firearm upgrade options?

Firearm upgrade options?

Just looking for some advice/opinions on what to do with my current rifle situation, I've been hunting for a couple years now and have had a Howa 1500 in .270, I've taken deer from 5m-380m with this but I've treated it like a bush pig and accuracy is starting to waiver, and I kind of just want a new gun anyway (I know at least the crown has some pitting).
    I would also like to start practicing pushing my shots out further in preparation for a trip down south (<600m). The .270 has served me very well as an all rounder, but I'm thinking of getting two different rifles for the different type of hunting I do, so a long range rifle and a bush rifle.
    My only concern with that is often I hunt in mixed areas where I might be bush hunting 1/2 the time and the other 1/2 glassing faces at 200-500m, I'd hate to have a deer that I would be able to shoot with my long range rifle but can't because I've got the bush rifle. On the contrary I'd feel stupid lugging a big LR rifle through the bush to get to some slips only to have a big stag come before me and not be able to shoot it with my huge scope.
    From the way I see it I've got a few options:
    1: Keep the .270, recrown and continue to use that as an all rounder
    2: Recrown .270, use that as long range rig with speciality projectiles, buy bush rifle
    3: Chop down .270, use as bush rifle, buy long range rifle
    4: Sell .270, buy long range rifle, buy bush rifle
    5: Sell .270, buy something else that acts as an all rounder