Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree63Likes

Thread: Advice on handling meat after the kill

cally woo

Advice on handling meat after the kill

Hi folks, just took the meat off my first goat yesterday. (Back steaks and back wheels). Second goat I've got but first I've taken meat from (I'm a beginner bowhunter).

As I had cooled the meat down on a tree and bagged it up, I was walking back wondering how long the meat would last until it was inedible. I tried googling but there are crazy different answers on the net. Some people say you need to ice it straight away, some people hang it for days on a tree. What are your guys rules for handling the meat after a kill? When should I feel unsafe about eating it? Looking for a specific indication of hours instead of general answers please.

Walking my rifle
    as long as its cool to the touch and you are keeping flies and stuff off it should last a few days.
    Ive personally left deer guts in overnight (winter mostly) in hard to get to spots and meat was still fine next day, but i wont recommend that.

For me, if it looks fine, smells fine then it probably is fine.
    cally woo likes this.
    If you can't kill it with bullets, dont f*ck with it.

Gone but not forgotten
    You won’t get a specific answer, it depends hugely on temperature and humidity.
    Wrapped in plastic on a hot day or in your pack against your back it could be off in a couple of hours.
    In the fridge it will be fine for several days, depending what condition the meat was in when you put it in.

specific times are hard, because it depends on the temp and what sort of meat.