Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Like Tree85Likes

Thread: .270WSM Experiences?

Haha sorry Danny, my bad.
    dannyb likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by dannyb View Post
    I don't think 15 yards would be ethical
    I'm bored. Let's head off topic with a debate on what "ethical" means in a hunting context.
    dannyb likes this.
    Just...say...the...word

I have had limited experience with the 270 WSM, mine was only used in Canada at my son's place. The load we used was the Barnes XLC 130 gr at over 3200 fps. I shot two Mule Deer Bucks with that load, one at 298 yards and the other at 70 yards. Performance was good but I would have liked to try the ELD X in it if they were around back then.
    My son shot a Black Bear with it at around 300 yards if my memory is right dropping it on the spot.
    For NZ I think it has a lot of merit, it would be a good allrounder like the 270 Win but on steroids. ( although my 270 Win load with the 145 gr ELD X is encroaching on 270 WSM territory)
    They are nice to shoot , not to heavy a recoil and accurate. The one I had was a Browning A Bolt with a Bushnell 3x 9 x 3200 on it. ( be fore dial up took off)
    I wouldn't hesitate to use it on Elk or Moose size animals with the right bullets at sensible ranges.
    A much underrated one of the WSM family especially now as we have better projectiles now days.
    Tahr and dannyb like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Mooseman View Post