Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: Quiet rifles? Mine makes a racket.

Quiet rifles? Mine makes a racket.

So I have a Tikka T3, nice rifle but loading it is SO DAMN LOUD. I didn't really notice until I started shooting with a single-shot Baikal (great rifle) which I can operate in total silence to load right in front of something I'm about to shoot at. The T3 makes loud clicks when opening the bolt, picking up the round, and chambering the round. I can silence some of those by going slowly and carefully, but really... who wants a loud rifle when stalking? I make enough noise standing on twigs and scraping branches and I don't need my rifle making any more noise!

So... what's your quietest rifle (and its action)? (other than a Baikal)
    Thanks to the Playstation we have the outdoors to ourselves!

i find all of my bolt actions are noisey little bastards. so i learned to walk around with a round up the spout.
    HUNTY, Spudattack, Happy and 1 others like this.

I reckon my baikal is noisier

LJP
    Until you have to reload the Blaser is very quiet. You can keep one up the spout with the bolt decocked safely then simply push the quiet thumb piece forward on the bolt when you are ready to go.
    Blaser likes this.

Have you tried the half-cock bolt mod on your Tikka?
    I don't own one so can't speak to their efficacy but the system seems popular

Any thing mag feed is going to have a bit of noise there,mikala is about as bad as it comes though. Just drop a round into the chamber instead of feeding it. Or Cha,her a round and use the safety.

Stick with the Baikal, Thompson centre pro hunter, or Bergara